Iowa State Track Back For First Time in 2 Years

DES MOINES - After last year's state track meet was canceled due to the pandemic, athletes were eager to get back in action at Drake Stadium. They did not disappoint when this year's event kicked off here on Thursday. 

Some winners on Day 1:  

-2A Boys Long Jump - Long jump: Cooper DeJean, OABCIG, 23-7.50

-3A Boys High jump - Ian Collins, Charles City, 6-9

-Boys 3200 - (1A) Jason Renze, Madrid, 9:26.34 (2A) Brady Griebel, Bellevue, 9:22.83; (3A) Nate Mueller, ADM, Adel, 9:13.84;  (4A) Jackson Heidesch, Dowling Catholic, 9:18.32. 

-Boys 400 - (1A) Trevor Sauerbrei, Wapsie Valley, 50.10; (2A) Brayden Wollan, Underwood, 47.73;  (3A) Elijah Morris, Washington, 49.53; (4A) TJ Tomlyanovinch, Cedar Falls, 47.54. 

-The Solon team of Kaia Holtkamp, Anna Quillin, Gracie Federspiel and Emma Bock won the girls 3A  4x800 meter relay in 9:21.84.

-Freshman Danielle Hostetler of Mid-Prairie won the Class 2A 3,000 meters in a time of 10:25.26.

-Oskaloosa's Faith DeRonde was the Class 3A champion in the 3A discus with a toss of 140-01. 

-Ankeny's Lauren McMahon won the Class 4A 3000 meters in 9:57.17, marking the first time an Ankeny Hawk has won the event.

View more than 1,110 photos from Thursday's 2A/3A session HERE

HERE are almost 1K photos from the 1A/4A session on Thursday.