The story from Drake Stadium in Des Moines.

DES MOINES, Iowa - On the first day of the state co-ed track meet, mother nature shared center stage. The late spring run pounded down here on Drake Stadium on Thursday with temperatures reaching above 90 degrees. Before the final race could be run, a lightning storm stopped the action. 

The well-trained athletes toughed it out and were rewarded. 

In Class 4A, the Drake distance champions triumphed again. Iowa City Liberty's Ashlyn Keeney took home gold in the 3000, finishing in 10:04.09. Tim Sindt of Ankeny captured the 3200 in 9:28.90. 

Bedford's Emma Lucas (1A), Mid-Prairie's Marie Hostetler (2A) and Glenwood's Janette Schraft (3A) won the 3000 in their respective classes. The latter two repeated from last year. 

George-Little Rocks' Joe Anderson (1A), Garner-Hayfield-Ventura's Reece Smith (2A) and Algona's Trey Engen (3A) won their respective 3200 races.  

In the 1A 400, Rachel Fehr became the first athlete ever from West Bend-Mallard to win a race at the state meet. Applington-Parkersburg's Sophia Jungling (2A), Davenport Assumption's Carly King (3A) and Cedar Falls' Mackenzie Michael (4A) also won 400 titles. 

Lynnville-Sully's Tyson Vander Linden won the 1A boys 400. Mediapolis' Jagger Gourley and Sergeant Bluff Luton's Jorma Schwedler took gold in the 2A and 3A, respectively. 

In Class 2A girls action, the 4x800 foursome of Bailey Nelson, Macay Van'tHul, Emilee Heynen and Olivia Granstra broke the state meet record in the 9:24. 

Watch the interviews with Thursday's race winners HERE

Photos of Thursday's races can be found HERE